Marginally kippered

Standard

Raining raining raining (and on).

Mud pies are the first remedy.  I’m experimenting with paper clay, so I tried some hand-building.

1-paper-clay

Since I fully intend to abuse these pots in all sorts of ways until I’ve tested them to destruction, I’m not bothering with niceties like getting their curves symmetrical.  They are ponderous for their size, and, perhaps because it’s Sunday, and I’m half expecting this pot to explode at some point, I couldn’t help thinking of it as the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch, à la Pythons.

2-bucket-full

After mud pies, setting fire to stuff is a good thing to do, so I tried a miniature barrel smoke-firing with some biscuit fired gash pots.  As the house is luckily in possession of a chimney, I could do this without annoying the neighbours or going out in the rain 🙂

3-combustion

I was aiming for a quick cool burn so as not to crack the pots, and that sort of worked.  Without a draft into the materials, the combustion is brief and incomplete.  I could make holes in the sides of the bucket or invest in a small incinerator if I want to get a thorough burn, but then again I do want smoke rather than hot intense flame.

4-partial

Some interesting marks; and a lot of work to do before I get the process under any sort of control.  Still – proof of concept.

 

2 responses »

  1. That looks very successful. Maybe there’s a market for ‘Rthepotter’s Guide to Indoor Smoke Firing’? Was the feather the last residue of the Xmas goose?
    Very best wishes to you for 2017, long may your pots fire perfectly.

Leave a Reply

