When in doubt, make owls

Standard

Christmas, they tell me, is coming, and I felt like fooling around with home-made paper clay, so I whapped up a small batch of stoneware clay and toilet paper, and another of grey beach clay and more toilet paper.  (No, I do not know what I am doing.)

1-toilet-paperI used the paper clay to make some rustic ornaments for the tree.  The first set looks more like sea life than stars of wonder, but I’m ok with that.

2-starfishThen I had a go at angels, but unfortunately figurative art is entirely beyond me, and as my advisor helpfully pointed out, the results were somewhat scary and appeared to be angels of death.  So I converted the shapes into owls; still a bit scary?

3-owls

Now they are firing and strange stinks and fumes are wafting from the kiln.  I have the garage door wide open and the burning off will finish soon.  I wait with interest for the results.

Especially for the one angel I retained.  I am also ok with having the Angel of Death on the Christmas tree.

7 responses »

    • They survived biscuit firing (except for the one I dropped) and am now experimenting with glaze effects. I rather hope they do turn out scary, as there is quite enough sentiment around at this time of year. Yes, read Owl Service in very early teens (long ago), but I was more into science fiction than fantasy, so Garner never really ‘took’.

      • I think Garner is the only fantasy I’ve ever managed. Much preferred science fiction too. Loved John Christopher’s work for youngsters.
        Scary owls so superior to sweet!

        • I think I’m older than you – I was reading Hugh Walters, Andre Norton, Robert Heinlein (the YA ones like ‘Farmer in the Sky’) and, heaven help me, W.E. Johns’ dreadful SF attempts up to about age 12 – then started pilfering into adult SF which happened to be lying around the house.
          Quite pleased with the owls that have come from the kiln today – not bad for a hasty experiment. I hope they don’t look too cosy 🙂

          • I’ve just seen the owls and think they look great. As for my SF reading interests – I ended up missing a year of school when my family came back from abroad. Oddly, I never quite got in step with any of the children’s classics and I guess SF (particularly average SF) is rather of it’s publication ‘moment’.

          • Thank you! I’ve been setting up the owl tree today and had a few comments from the other exhibitors there 🙂

            Always interesting to return to childhood books and see if you can recapture why you liked them. Some joyful surprises, some mortifying disillusionments.

          • ‘Mortifying disillusionments’ – how accurately summarised. Mind you for me it’s more often with films, maybe, our juvenile impressions should simply stay with us as treasured memories.

Leave a Reply

