Revelling in the cold

Standard

The revelling won’t last, though I daresay the cold will.  So I nipped out with the 10″ to take a quick look at the Moon, as everything else was wiped out by it.

I always like the waxing gibbous phase, which conveniently brings some of my favourite features to the terminator.  I took a lot of snaps through the eyepiece; always frustrating to find that while one segment is pretty good, other areas come out blurred.  And the Moon image in the eyepiece was surprisingly zizzy considering it isn’t warm, which won’t have helped to get a sharp image.  I’ve turned the pictures upside down to make them right way up, and now they look peculiar to me.

1-waxing-gibbous-10-nov-2016There’s something very satisfying about Clavius, with its arc of smaller craters diminishing gradually in size like Russian dolls.  The camera managed to pick up the central peak in Rutherfurd (on the southern rim) and the smaller craters D C N and J (running away from Rutherfurd in an arc).  The unevenness of the crater walls is obvious, and I see there is a tiny hint of the rather mashed down central peaks (inboard of C, as it were) and hints of some of the other minor craters in the interior.  I haven’t attempted to identify all the surrounding craters – this part of the surface is a bit busy.

2-clavius-10-nov-2016And I have a fondness for Gassendi.  I think it was one of the first craters I learned by name, with its very distinctive shape where Gassendi A breaks the main crater wall.  This image caught some of the detail – the long ridge leading away to the east just catching the sun, the slump or depression in eastern wall, the break in the wall to the south, and just a hint of the concentric ridge which lies within the south wall.  Also a hint of the raised material inside the northern rim where Gassendi A intrudes. It would be too much to expect to image any of the rimae with my feeble equipment.

3-gassendi-10-nov-2016

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

