The gloriousness of cabbages

Standard

The gloriousness of cabbages.  Not a phrase I normally expect to use.

July 2015     Plant a few winter cabbage seeds indoors

August, September 2015    Keep puling feeble seedlings indoors to avoid cabbage white caterpillar attack

October 2015     Plant out spindly winter cabbage plants

November 2015      Plants begin to develop leaves

December 2015      Wood pigeons strip infant cabbages down to their stalks

January, February 2016      Stalks stand shivering

March, April 2016     Stalks begin to produce leaves again – slug attacks

May 2016     Guinea pigs and I share some of the leaves, picked as spring greens

June 2016     Very confused winter cabbage begin to form hearts

I am aware of the imminent menace of this year’s generation of caterpillars, and maybe it would be best to eat the cabbages now.  But it’s hard to cut them down just yet:  pristine; exuberant; and glorious.

winter cabbage

12 responses »

      • Oh, me too – any plant around me has to be able to cope.

        Nice to get a chance to comment. I’ve been overloaded for – ouch, two and a half years now – but things are easing up. I’m under orders (from myself) to start posting at least a few times a week as of July 1.

        • Just seen your giraffe post. It looks so relaxing to be a giraffe but perhaps better in a safari park than on the African plains with the big predators. Nice to see you back.

  1. spray them with soft soap mixed with water and the cabbage caterpillars will die or go somewhere else. If you haven’t got soap, then washing-up liquid will do. Or derris dust, but I hear it may be dangerous to inhale. It certainly is dangerous to creepy crawlies…

    • Yes, I do this with clumps of blackfly but last time I grew brassicas the infestation of caterpillars was so immense I’d have needed a bathfull of soapy water. I swear I could hear the munching of thousands of tiny jaws. And like you I do worry about serious insecticides.

  2. Noble plants indeed. I have just discoverd Neem oil, which seems to be quite effective in keeping bugs and things at bay. Don’t suppose it will deter the pigeons.
    Alen

Leave a Reply

