Monoculture

Standard

Why do I put myself through it?  I wondered, digging wearily on the neglected veg plot.  Why, indeed. I’ve seriously considered a monoculture this year.  I could plant early peas … main crop … traditional climbing peas … mange tout … sugar peas …

I couldn’t quite bring myself to do it, which is why I have seedlings of runner beans, sweet corn, and tomatoes, and a few other bits and bobs.

seedlingsBut I know where the priorities lie.  I’ve planted three rows of peas today, and ordered two extra kinds of pea seed too.  It’s a law of nature: there shall never be enough peas; but nature is what we were put here to rise above.

other seedlings

One response »

Leave a Reply

