A classic May bank holiday weekend

Standard

So, what to do with it?

1   Watch the squalls come over.  This one had hail and a small tempest inside.

shower

2   Take your coat off and toast in the sun.  Once, anyway. For half an hour.

3   Cut the grass, whining and complaining throughout.

4   Do a lot more rolling out.

5   Get some small benefit for having once suffered geometry.

geometry

6   Stack the kiln.  As it heated, I thought I heard an odd noise … as of inadequate joints suddenly letting go.

7   Measure out exactly one gram.  The display of my new toy puzzled me by changing randomly:  turned out it was my breath on the weighing tray.

one gram

8  Stir and sieve until too cold to bear it any more.

9   Watch Shakespeare.  I’m still waiting for a production of Henry V which doesn’t fudge the hypocrisy and self-deception which I personally think that Shakespeare sneaked into his portrait of our favourite monarch.

10   It was, however, a mistake to watch Shakespeare, cook tonight’s dinner and tomorrow’s dinner, and hand-wash my best jumpers, all at the same time.

Above all, however, stay home.  The tangle of motorbikes, cyclists and tourists on the road was perfectly horrible.

8 responses »

  1. That’s how I cut the grass. Our inspirational English teacher, Mr Peirce, maintained there was an anti-war message hidden in the text of Henry V.

    • I reckon Mr Peirce was right – and suspect there was also an anti-Henry message in Henry V, rather well hidden among all the wonderful lines Shakespeare gives him to say.

      • Mixed feelings were I felt there was an almost cultural difference between Tom Hiddleston’s very modern delivery and some of the older members of the cast. Interestingly, a brilliant performance by Anton Lesser seemed to bridge the two styles. Perhaps it was the difference between actors used to performing Shakespeare on stage and those with more experience performing to camera. Still what do I know – I’m more of a visual type and not really a wordy person. 😁 😁 😁

        • Interesting … I see what you mean (and am always in favour of watching Anton Lesser). I was noticing more the way this (and the other components of the series) was aping a couple of film predecessors, but without the budget to do so, and thinking that the exterior filming just looked cheap – e.g. the coastal scenes in Richard II were all risible. It reminded me of the film titles round on I’m Sorry I Haven’t a Clue – “Bridge on the River Mole” and so on.

          • Oh yes, you are so right about making it in a cinematic style. Come to think of it I feel that visual choice accentuated the differences in acting styles between the young and the old hands even more.
            I’m off to our library now to get the unabridged audiobook of ‘Great Expectations’ read by no less than Anton Lesser.

          • Cunning plan. Since you nudged me last autumn I have returned to the public library to borrow their audio books (have too large a backlog in print to need to borrow!) and I have my eye on Dickens, but am still exploring books which are new to me.
            If you are at all inclined to the classics, Anton Lesser’s reading of the Iliad is superb. I found my copy in a charity shop and I’ve listened to it twice now – some of the best listening money I ever invested.

Leave a Reply

