Diversions

Standard

While being productive I was listening.

O'BrianOnly two things wrong with this.  It’s abridged, so it doesn’t last long enough or include all the favourite bits.  And it is read (very well) by Robert Hardy; which is only an issue because his voice is so distinctive that I visualize Hardy’s familiar features instead of Aubrey, Maturin, Bonden, Wogan or Herapath.  But it cost about one tenth of the unabridged recording, which is a compelling argument.

After some judicious hacking I went to harvest some runners.  Gratifyingly, these come from my vegetable trial which involved planting runners at the end of July, obviously a ridiculous thing to do.  The late planted carrots are also making roots.  Less impressively, the pepper plants, after six months feeding and watering, have finally ripened one fruit (though there have been some green ones).

belatedI found some photo opportunities in the local garden centre.

closeI rather wish I had bought this one.  Perhaps another time.

close2

7 responses »

  1. I agree abridged is irritating – earlier this year I listened to ‘Master and Commander’ read by Ric Jerrom. Borrowed it from my local library (80p for 3 weeks) unabridged, 14 discs, over 15 hours! It was well read. I keep two lists a) readers I like and, b) readers I won’t listen to. Ric Jerrom is on the former. I love Robert Hardy’s voice, but I agree with you it is very distinctive and I tend to imagine Siegfried Farnon from the BBC TV ‘All Creatures Great and Small’!

    • That’s a good point and thanks for the recommendation. I have access to several people’s bookshelves, so have stopped using our admittedly rather feeble and underfunded public library – but I will search the catalogue and see what their audiobooks are like.

    • I didn’t have any carrot fly even with the earlier ones – perhaps the rampaging weeds disguised the target! The disappointment is the late-sown peas. They grew, and even podded, but are covered with such OTT mildew that they are very repellent. And yes – if you are thinking of the description of Jack and Sophie’s ravaged Ashgrove cabbages, that’s always sounded very like my veg plot.

    • That’s sad. What was it you didn’t like? Perhaps they are the Marmite of the historical novel world; I re-read all twenty from time to time, chuckling for a good deal of the way.

Leave a Reply

