A Stevie Smith moment

Standard

Today’s walk involved lead grey sails

1 sails

and lead grey skies.

2 sky

My companions declined a scramble down a muddy place; assisted by dangling tree roots, I went ahead to the shingle squeezed between the tide and the sliding cliff.

3 squeezed

I could not leave my friends standing in the chill wind for long, but had a brief Stevie Smith moment:

It is always early morning here on this peculiar island
The green grass grows into the sea on the dipping land …
… in this early morning land I always wear my hat
Go home, you see, well I wouldn’t run a risk like that.

(My Hat)

 4 wear my hat

 

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

