In which we learn that Tiggers don’t like haycorns

Standard

Once upon a time, long long ago, in a different part of the Forest, I felt it my duty (in a spirit of fair-mindedness) to actually read a book by Barbara Cartland right to the last page, to make sure it was the same all the way to the bottom before I slagged her off in public.  It was; I threw it across the room; and have felt entitled to abuse her novels to the world ever since.

In a similar spirit, I attended the Cineworld live screening from the Royal Opera House:  Wagner’s Flying Dutchman.  Some of the Wagner operas have come in at a killer 6 hours, and no amount of fair-mindedness would get me to go, but this was only two-and-a-half hours to make sure it was the same all the way to the bottom.  The bottom was quite a long way down, for my money, but I did manage to drop off a couple of times, which cushioned the landing.  It wasn’t entirely without redeeming features, but no; on the whole, I think Wagnerites can keep their haycorns.

2 responses »

  1. Been there, done that. With me it was a random Mills&Boon and the Welsh National Opera Dutchman … set on a spaceship in outer space. Didn’t work for me on any level.

Leave a Reply

