Bouncing through the neutrophils

Standard

A random chain of events led me to the article, which is well above my head.

Pericytes (contractile perivascular cells found on the abluminal surface of capillaries and post-capillary venules) interact with endothelial cells and contribute to vascular homeostasis.  At inflammatory sites, neutrophils migrate along pericytes interdigitated in the vessel wall, exiting through gaps between neighboring pericytes. 
 

 I read on, bouncing from known word to known word and attempting to retain a sense of the argument.

After a while an odd sense of familiarity grew, and I realized I was using the same reading technique as if tackling large lumps of Milton or unfamiliar bits of Shakespeare.  Not only that, I recalled using this same technique when reading my first adult novels – tackling the dense vocabulary of Jane Eyre when I was six, for example, which offers vassalage, heterogeneous, capacity, propensities, noxious, indignation, sanguine, complacently, cordiality, prone, scapegoat in a single paragraph in chapter 1. I remember hurdling detail with my eyes on the narrative, and discovering that most of the words came quietly into focus behind me.

It still works.  Like Mr Shaw, let us stimulate the phagocytes.

Article Neutrophils at work was in the July issue of Nature Immunology – authors Nauseef and Borregaard.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

