Normally I would have sat on this tomb

Standard
Anonymous slab

Anonymous slab

… but today the circumambient obsessives with telephoto lenses  T   H   A   T      L   O   N   G   disrupted the ecclesiastical aura.

So I bunked off to Pallant House.  Stanley Spencer is visiting.

As I subscribe to the Winnie the Pooh zoo philosophy of going straight to your favourite animal and staying with them, I put down Spencer’s pretensions by getting around to him in my own good time, which turned out to be after most of the other stuff.  I had to hunt for a number of my favourites as they had been moved, and some were no longer visible at all 😦

You aren’t allowed photography even for personal use without a permit, but I wanted something to remember so took a couple of details in the original Pallant House, which makes a curious but surprisingly enjoyable setting for modern paintings.  Spencer, of course, was in the new wing.

Favourite shutters

Favourite shutters

Surviving architecture and shocking green button lights (the photo doesn't do them justice)

Surviving architecture and shocking green button lights (the photo doesn’t do them justice)

I want to know about the incident which led to this notice being placed

I want to know about the incident which led to this notice being placed

As I couldn’t photograph the paintings,  I tried to note pieces which I found intriguing.  The list on my phone grew longer and longer, and, now I come to look at it, fairly incomprehensible:

Moore small drawings in one legs suddenly get realistic joke?
Unattributed reservecollection bluew red horizon aerial view ish circle
Inner outer grey geometry peach squiggle lines red and black middle small objects
Branch swiss roll gold inside
Macedonia horse mapreading provender head in basket

 

I omit the other twenty seven items.

Pallant have kept a souvenir of one of their first commissioned artworks – the mussel staircase by Susie McMurray.  I saw the full installation at the time and found it enormously creepy.  Even in a two-by-three panel it is unsettling.

Then I finally headed for the special exhibition.  Spencer probably didn’t mind that I had deferred him, as his paintings kept their punch even for a lady of a certain age with a tired back and hot feet.  They don’t need any comment of mine …

I managed to emerge without buying any more books, which was fortunate as I had already shopped above my station.  I did buy three postcards:

John Craxton - Hare on Table;  Henry Moore - Two Sleepers;  Michael Andrews - Thames Painting: The Estuary

John Craxton – Hare on Table; Henry Moore – Two Sleepers; Michael Andrews – Thames Painting: The Estuary

Particularly silly to turn the Thames Estuary into a postcard, as the painting is about 60 square feet.  Still – visual note.

And did my encounter with High Art elevate my soul and brace my moral character to encounter the further difficulties of the day?  Hmmm – let’s leave that an open question.

Leave a Reply

