Things to do when you can’t sleep: xli

Standard

xli : Soak your slippers

I’ve not been gazing for a long time, what with germs and bad weather.  So I stuffed myself into leggings, dashed out into the moonless black to see where the sky had got to.  Everything was mushy below 45º but Jupiter was brilliant in Gemini and Mars was a rich glow near Spica.  I could just pick out the globular in Hercules with binoculars, but the seeing wasn’t good even where the sky seemed clear.  Low down in the fuzzy stuff and looking through trees I think I picked up Saturn for a moment.

A seeping sensation brought me back to things terrestrial.  There must have been a shower earlier; and it was 2 a.m.

One response »

Leave a Reply

