Learning to swear in Swedish

Standard
You would think that watching hours of Swedish tv would help you learn the language.  Not so; I can tie a few words into what’s appearing on the subtitles, but it is mostly too fast and too colloquial.  The exception is the cursing:  as expletives tend to emerge singly, and with emphasis, I’m getting quite good at them.

Note the price tag

I’m not going to review the series properly, except to say that for me the beauty of the filming and the subtlety and underplayed acting in these leaves the other English and Swedish versions of Wallander looking silly.  I’ll also say that  I, who shamelessly shop in bargain bins and consider £2.99 a perfectly reasonable price for a DVD,  actually paid the full asking price. Twice.  And thought it was worth it.
4 responses »

  1. I had a Swedish friend who lives near where the English version wsa filmed. she was pretty annoyed at the strange decor in the houses – what decade were they trying to be in? I liked Branagh, I liked the slowness of it all, but it was a bit relentless at times.

    • I only watched a couple of the Branagh ones because I just couldn’t get on with them, although I have liked him in other things. The Swedish films with Krister Henriksson as Wallander don’t feel slow to me, and there is a redeeming vein of social comedy in most of them (though sometimes I have to be looking quite carefully to spot it – when reading subtitles it’s not so easy to pick up the subtle facial expressions and body language).

Leave a Reply

