Mixed blessings

Standard

Normal service has been resumed in the kale and brocolli row.  I suppose it will be another 15 years before I eat a home-grown brassica again.

I picked some vegetables, but it feels more like salvage than harvest.  A lot of them are stunted and damaged.

Most of the plants look defeated, but Iceberg will always have another try.  If I thought it would notice, I would give it a medal.

Of my five gauria plants, three never got going and two are putting on a superb display.  It becomes expensive, but it’s wonderful to have such a drift of bloom at this time of the year.

Pond plants either pule and shrivel, or grow round and round the pond until there’s no room left for the water.  I’ve started to deal with the latter situation.

Leave a Reply

