World record

Standard

Vegetables!  Not many, and some not as good as they should be, but there were moments when I thought the whole veg plot would have to be written off.  Many of these turned into a cheesy vegetable bake.

 

Kale: this represents a world record, as I have literally never grown a successful brassica before.  Usually if they don’t bolt in a drought, the slugs and caterpillars strip them to the stalks.

I don’t know that it was worth enduring all that rain in order to get it, though.

 

11 responses »

  1. Congrats. I am consumed with envy – our year is turning into a vegetable disaster on all fronts. That black kale/cavelo nero/whatever you call it is one of my candidates for most beautiful vegetable, especially in the kitchen. One hint – I find them much nicer if you strip the central stem out of the centre of the leaves.

    • Thank you – I wouldn’t bet there is any more to come though. Sorry to hear that you’re having the same sort of problems – what a stinker of a year it has been.
      Also thank you for the hint about the midribs of the kale – I didn’t read your advice in time, and I totally agree with you!

  2. Aren’t they gorgeous! I’ve had a lot of green beans and basil, and the promise of purple(!) tomatillos that aren’t ripe yet. And if only we could eat tomato leaves and stalks…the plants (caged and staked) are as tall as I am, and I think some of the flowers have been succeeded by minuscule tomatoes, but I can’t really tell yet.

    We’ve had heat (my cilantro bolted almost as soon as it came up), but almost no rain; the soaker hose has been running almost daily here.

    • It’s satisfying to get something to harvest, and I agree – a lot of the veges can be very beautiful.
      We were in a state of drought with hosepipe bans for some time while the rain poured down – but to be fair, that was about groundwater levels. I think they are well and truly topped up now!

      • I’m a little surprised they didn’t declare a drought and ban watering here! (Though, as a rule, vegetable gardens are exempted from watering bans.) I suspect the only reason we escaped is that last year set records for precipitation, so the water table should be so well topped up it’s a wonder we aren’t all floating.

    • Hello, and thanks for dropping in here! I like the way you’re working on your drawings in your blog. What is your corn doing? Better than my vegetables, I hope –

  3. You’ve done very well there. Usually, by this time of year, my allotment’s moving into full production. But so far all we’ve got is broad beans, lettuce and a few slug-eaten spuds. Oh, and one cucumber in the polytunnel. Worst year ever.

    • 😦 Sounds dismal. In the Good Old Days when they couldn’t bus in bananas we would all have been starving I suppose. Was it 1816 which was the last Year Without a Summer?

Leave a Reply

