A place in the sky

Standard

The sun is shining.  It was 28 degrees yesterday instead of 14 degrees last week.  The washing is drying.  And the stars came out.

Tuesday night I faffed about collimating the 5″ (a lost cause as the focuser draw tube is so rickety now) and then had an hour to wander.  You couldn’t call it an observation; more a case of calibrating naked eye/binocular/telescope views again, and getting a few basic star hops from A to B re-established.

I re-acquainted myself with the constellations, hurrying because darkness falls so late and I had to get up in the morning. Then I hunted up a few Messiers to get my eye in.  It was comforting to see the usual suspects again – M57 (Ring nebula), M11 (Wild Duck cluster), M27 (the Dumbbell), M31 (Andromeda galaxy), M13 (the glob in Hercules).  And I finally had something to write in the observing log.

Last night there were more stars.  In the brief observing session I inched down through Scutum looking for Messiers.  M26 was a small, faint object with a 25mm eyepiece, but is arranged in such a distinctive pattern with Epsilon and Delta Sct that there can be no mistake.

I got a bit lost then and can’t decide if a starry clump was M18 or M24, as I haven’t consciously seen either of them before.  After some randomness looking for M17 I saw something nebulous, and this time had the wit to sketch it.  Again, a distinctive pattern of stars confirmed that this was the Swan/Omega.  Another first. And the navigation is coming back to me.

It was a night to stay out until 4 but I couldn’t let myself do so.  Oh for a clear weekend and the 10″ scope!

6 responses »

    • Too much light pollution and too demanding a schedule? I can imagine the deprivation. I’ve only been stargazing seriously for a few years, and now when the weather prevents for more than a week or two I actually feel – well, slightly claustrophobic would be the nearest, or maybe even, strangely enough, homesick.

  1. What a beautifully lyrical account laced with erudition. My star-gazing is limited to nights out in the hammock, reminding myself of the simpler constellations, stars and planets, plus occasional sessions using my birding ‘scope.

    • Star-gazing from a hammock sounds great to me! – and perfect for the Perseids, if only the weather would be kind.
      I’m a little disconcerted that the words ‘erudite’ and ‘lyrical’ could be remotely connected with my ramblings, but thank you for the kind thought. 🙂

Leave a Reply

