I’ve been on a bender

Gallery

I’m sorry to go on about the w*@!**r, but it’s been coming down in stair-rods.  So I went on a bender.  A Shakespearian bender.

After re-reading Measure for Measure, there were three documentaries being shown by the BBC, all very interesting and suggestive.

Then I watched the Animated Shakespeare miniature version of The Tempest, with its exquisitely judged animation technique and text selection.

Inserted among this was Michael Pennington’s delicious book, which deserves a special post to itself but won’t get it.  His insight and humour wafted me effortlessly through every page.

Next I picked up part I of The Hollow Crown on iPlayer, which is Richard II with brutal cuts, but retaining the unsettling quality of the play.  Shakespeare is a great survivor.

And then to cheer up, No Bed for Bacon, a story close to my heart.  I wouldn’t say that Tom Stoppard borrowed parts of it for Shakespeare in Love, as perhaps the girl-dressed-as-a-boy-acting-a-girl-disguised-as-a-boy is a conceit that many people might have; but Brahms and Simon definitely had it before Stoppard, as their version was published in 1941.  And for my money, it’s much funnier and, yes, more moving too.

Now I have to look in the mirror to see if my eyes have gone all googly.

Part 2 of Shakespeare Uncovered was given over to Ethan Hawke discussing 'Macbeth' with thespians and academics.  Hawke did not look as sinister as he does in this snap of the iPlayer screen!

Part 2 of Shakespeare Uncovered was given over to Ethan Hawke discussing ‘Macbeth’ with thespians and academics. Hawke did not look as sinister as he does in this snap of the iPlayer screen!

Prospero in a few minutes and fewer lines is given a truly Shakespearian ambiguity.

Prospero in a few minutes and fewer lines is given a truly Shakespearian ambiguity.

He had me from the moment he described watching a mime impersonate different kinds of cheese.

He had me from the moment he described watching a mime impersonate different kinds of cheese.

Looked pretty, but the symbolism was very unsubtle.

Looked pretty, but the symbolism was very unsubtle.

A book in which a second-best bed, a potato and several cloaks have significant roles.

A book in which a second-best bed, a potato and several cloaks have significant roles.

On Thursday evening, this only contained sunshine

On Thursday evening, this only contained sunshine

2 responses »

    • 🙂 I’m pleased if that comes over, as it’s a cherishable book, both affectionate and irreverent about its source material. ‘No bed …’ and I go back a long way together!

Leave a Reply

