I’ve been tagged

Standard

WeeGee has started a tag game among her blogging acquaintance and I’ve been tagged!

Here are the rules:

  1. You must post the rules
  2. Answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post
  3. Create eleven new questions to ask the people you’ve tagged
  4. Tag (eleven) people with a link to your post
  5. Let them know they’ve been tagged

Here are the questions she has posed for me:

  1. What’s the best advice you’ve ever been given?
  2. Are you a dog person, a cat person, or some-other-kind-of-animal person?
  3. What is your opinion of mushrooms?*
  4. Could you recommend a good book please?
  5. What’s your motto?
  6. Is it okay to lie to spare somebody’s feelings?
  7. What’s the best thing about blogging?
  8. Could you tell me a joke or share something funny?
  9. Is there something that you don’t like but wish that you did?
  10.  What would you do if you found a ferret in the street?**
  11.  What should I ask if I really want to get to know you?***

Now here’s the thing:  owing to natural imbecility I find parlour games quite difficult, so I am going to cheat and unilaterally change the rules to threes of everything to make it easier.

Here are my answers to three of the questions:

4.  Yes.  But I have difficulty stopping at one.  Novels:  Villette by Charlotte Bronte, Possession by A. S. Byatt, The Ionian Mission by Patrick O’Brian … and the ones I’ve mentioned below …  and on.  (It’s even worse when I start recommending non-fiction.)

3.  My opinion of mushrooms has been heavily influenced by ‘doing’ Sylvia Plath at school so I eat as many as possible to help prevent them getting loose upon the world. (Link to British Library for the poem)

5.  As I’m not going to answer your other questions I will generously give you three of my favourite sayings:

‘You’re never told what would have happened’ (approximately from C. S. Lewis, Voyage of the Dawn Treader)

‘You shouldn’t have joined if you couldn’t take a joke’ (from J. P. W. Mallalieu, Very Ordinary Seaman – context is a conscript Royal Navy, hence the joke)

‘Must have something’ (Earl P. Neck  in Stella Gibbons’ Cold Comfort Farm)

Three questions for those who are about to get tagged:

  1. Who is the most annoying character in literature?
  2. What is the most pointless or weirdest object you can’t bear to throw away, even though you know it is silly to keep it?
  3. Can you tell us about an unusual weather event you have experienced?

Three to be tagged:

Texthistory

hazystargazy

A Number of Things

Whew…

8 responses »

  1. Possession and Cold Comfort Farm are two books that I most definitely love, so I will pay particular attention to your other picks.

    PS. I’ve got a bit of a ‘thing’ about things coming in groups of three – I don’t know why, I just like it.

    • Ah – if you like those two, I should definitely say: ‘Hello Friend!’
      In case you do want to follow them up: ‘Villette’ is a curious book, and includes a pen-portrait of someone suffering from what was then called hypochondria but which might well be defined now as anxiety and depression – don’t know if you find it helpful or disturbing to read such.
      Patrick O’Brian wrote 20 Aubrey/Maturin novels, which is great for reading addicts like me – you don’t have to start from the first, although some of the jokes in ‘The Ionian Mission’ are even funnier if you have the back story.
      ‘Very Ordinary Seaman’ seems to be almost completely unknown now, but I have been reading it regularly for 45 years and I am not yet tired of it. It has such a sense of life as lived.
      Look forward to hearing your thoughts if you ever pick one up!

  2. Hi R – Sure, I\’ll play (I do prefer your stripped-down makeover, though!) Will have to think a bit about questions (1) – there are so many annoying characters; who\’s the very worst? and (2) – I keep so many things I should get rid of; which is the junkiest piece of junk?? Fortunately, (3) is going to be easy…and I\’ll leave you panting in suspense now.

  3. Pingback: Tag! I’m it. | A Number of Things

Leave a Reply

