Sunday evening garden

Standard

It’s the first time for weeks that I’ve been able to get on the garden.  After emergency grass cutting (team effort – bless them) I hoed over part of the veg plot and planted out some runner beans.  They look fragile as they weren’t really hardened off, but they were tying themselves into Gordian knots in the conservatory and really needed the space.

The wet weather seems to have generated an unspeakable mollusc plague, so, though I disapprove of myself, I have scattered a few slug pellets round the beans.  We can’t always live up to our principles.

The tomatoes needed potting on, and I’ve put out some of the other veg plants to harden off.

At intervals I inspected various corners.  Some plants seem to have benefited from the rain, while others have struggled.

London Pride: an old-fashioned flower

London Pride: an old-fashioned flower

My camera doesn't render this delicate blue very well

My camera doesn’t render this delicate blue very well

Quince - leaves took a hammering, but I'm hoping for fruit

Quince – leaves took a hammering, but I’m hoping for fruit

Mystery rose, and the rain has agreed with this one

Mystery rose, and the rain has agreed with this one

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

